Committees of the Board

Terms of Office

Board representatives on committees are appointed annually. Non-board member terms run July 1 – June 30, usually for three years.



What’s going on? When is it happening? Who’s in charge? Our Communication Team understands that getting the most out of your UU experience depends on knowing what’s going on and how to get plugged in. Working closely with our church’s  Communications Coordinator, we support a variety of tools to help members stay connected. And to help you understand what tools are available and how best to use them, check out our communication user guide.

If you have a passion for communication and want to join us, get in touch with the team.

Committee Charter

Communication Team:

  • Liz Bredeson (she/her/hers), Chair (2023)
  • Louise Alcorn (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Deidre Fudge (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Barb Royal (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Fern Stewart (she/her/hers) (board, 2023)

Congregational Life Committee

Contact:   Ellen Taylor (she/her/hers),

This committee assists the Congregational Life Coordinator to assure that we are welcoming to visitors, encouraging engagement in the church community, and supporting our hospitality teams.

Committee Charter

Membership & Congregational Life Committee:

  • Sally Boeckholt (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Shelly Kaldenberg (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Dash Back (he/him/his)
  • Terry Meek, Hospitality Coordinator (she/her/hers)
  • Board Member (TBD)

Financial Oversight (FOC)

The Financial Oversight Committee (FOC) provides financial monitoring, oversight, and consultation to the Board, to ensure the transparency of this information, and to engage in other duties as assigned by the Board.

Board Members 

  • Greg Nichols (2023)
  • Kevin Boeckholt (2023)

Non-Board Members 

  • Eileen Jackson (she/her/hers), Chair (2024)
  • Megan Klee (she/her/hers), Vice Chair (2024)
  • Margaret Schultz (she/her/hers), Secretary (2023)
  • Lisa Houchins (2025)

For a more complete description of duties, see the FOC Charter (2021-10-21).


The purpose of the Governance Committee is to enable productivity and efficiency in the congregation within its chosen governance structure. The Committee engages the congregation in a continual process of discernment and improvement.

Board Members

  • Andrea LeMuse (2023)
  • Crystal Loving (2023)

Non-Board Members 

  • Bill Brauch (he/him/his) (2023)
  • Bruce Martin (2025)
  • Gene McCracken (2024)

For a more complete description of duties, see the Governance Committee Charter.

Human Resources

The Human Resources (HR) Committee was established as an ad hoc committee in September, 2021. The purpose of this committee is to assist the senior minister in determining staff roles, job descriptions and evaluations and will include input on resume review when positions become open.

Committee Charter

Board Members

  • Reba Eagles (board, 2023)
  • Sally Merritt (board, 2023)
  • LeeAnn Back (board, 2023)

Leadership Team

The Leadership Team is responsible for defining healthy leadership styles at UCDSM, identifying and supporting congregational leaders, promoting mentoring throughout the congregation, and assuring the continuation of institutional memory for each group of the church. Team members serve 3-year staggered terms.

Committee Charter

  • Katie Allen (2024)
  • Sally Boeckholt (she/her/hers) (2025)
  • Bill Brauch (he/him/his) (2024)
  • Liz Bredeson (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Shelly Kaldenberg (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Sally Merritt (board, 2023)


Ministerial Review

The Ministerial Review Committee is responsible for assessing the Senior Minister’s performance in advancing the mission and goals our church.

Board Members: 

  • TBD


The Nominating Committee consists of two current Board Members and three non-board members.

Board Representative

  • Chelsea Hayes
  • Fern Stewart

Non-Board Members

  • Pam Backstrom (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Ken McCann (he/him/his) (2023)

For a more complete description of duties, see the Nominating Committee Charter 2020.

Stewardship Committee

Contact: Mike Merritt (he/him/his),

Our Stewardship Ministry Team focuses on the financial health of our congregation by promoting a culture of generosity. Whether it’s the annual pledge campaign, a special capital campaign or other fundraising event, the team believes members should feel comfortable talking about money and how it supports our Mission.You can also learn more about our Stewardship Ministry in the About Us section.

If you would like to join this team’s year-round work, they’d be delighted to talk with you. Please contact Liz Bredeson.

Stewardship Ministry Team:

  • Mike Merritt (he/him/his), chair (2023)
  • Sally Boeckholt (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Margaret Schultz (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Adrian Stamper (he/him/his) (2023)
  • Greg Nichols (board, 2023)