Committees of the Board

Terms of Office

Board representatives on committees are appointed annually. Non-board member terms run July 1 – June 30, usually for three years.

Financial Oversight (FOC)

The Financial Oversight Committee (FOC) provides financial monitoring, oversight, and consultation to the Board, to ensure the transparency of this information, and to engage in other duties as assigned by the Board.

Board Members 

  • Greg Nichols
  • Andrea LeMeuse

Non-Board Members 

  • Eileen Jackson (she/her/hers), Acting Chair (2024)
  • Al Powers (he/him/his), Secretary (2022)
  • Margaret Schultz (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Megan Klee (she/her/hers) (2024)

For a more complete description of duties, see the FOC Charter (2021-10-21).


The purpose of the Governance Committee is to enable productivity and efficiency in the congregation within its chosen governance structure. The Committee engages the congregation in a continual process of discernment and improvement.

Board Members

  • Scott Emison Clair
  • Reba Eagles
  • Crystal Loving

Non-Board Members 

  • Gene McCracken (he/him/his) (2022)
  • Bill Brauch (he/him/his) (2023)

For a more complete description of duties, see the Governance Committee Charter.

Human Resources

The Human Resources (HR) Committee was established as an ad hoc committee in September, 2021. The purpose of this committee is to assist the senior minister in determining staff roles, job descriptions and evaluations and will include input on resume review when positions become open.

Board Members

  • Reba Eagles
  • Scott Emison
  • Patty Notch

Leadership Team

The Leadership Team is responsible for defining healthy leadership styles at UCDSM, identifying and supporting congregational leaders, promoting mentoring throughout the congregation, and assuring the continuation of institutional memory for each group of the church. Team members serve 3-year staggered terms.

  • Katie Allen (she/her/hers)
  • Sally Boeckholt (she/her/hers)
  • Bill Brauch (he/him/his)
  • Liz Bredeson (she/her/hers)
  • Shelly Kaldenberg (she/her/hers)

Ministerial Review

The Ministerial Review Committee is responsible for assessing the Senior Minister’s performance in advancing the mission and goals our church.

Board Members: 

  • Scott Emison Clair
  • Patty Notch
  • Chelsea Hayes


The Nominating Committee consists of two current Board Members and three non-board members.

Board Representative

  • Chelsea Hayes
  • Fern Stewart

Non-Board Members

  • Pam Backstrom (she/her/hers) (2023)
  • Nate Hoogeveen (he/him/his) (2021)
  • Ken McCann (he/him/his) (2023)

For a more complete description of duties, see the Nominating Committee Charter 2020.